English Baccalaureate

The English Baccalaureate was introduced as a performance measure in the 2010 performance tables. It is not a qualification in itself, but recognises where students have secured a C grade or better across a core of academic subjects.

In June 2015 the Government announced the intention that all students who start Year 7 in September 2015 take the EBacc subjects when they reach their GCSEs in 2020.

What subjects are in the English Baccalaureate?

The English Baccalaureate is made up of English, mathematics, history or geography, the sciences and a language.

Why was the English Baccalaureate introduced?

The English Baccalaureate is a measure of success aimed at reversing the long-term drift away from students taking the likes of history, Geography, French, Spanish and other modern languages.

Full details are available on the Department for Education website.

Latest News

View All News